Dear Isabella

Dear Isabella,

 

So sorry darling that it took me so long to answer your letter but the past few weeks have been pretty hectic to say the least. Now at last we seem settled here and having a bit of time for a rest and a glass of wine or two.

How are you and Tom doing?

John is happy here with his books and enjoying the peace and quiet of the French countryside.

As for me, you know I was a bit reluctant to leave London at first but we have finally made our escape and found some inner peace , which is the most important thing, don’t you think? Eymet is such a wonderful place, a quaint little village in the heart of the Dordogne, with an old church and tower, plenty of shops (ok, the clothes are pretty dreadful but they’re so damn cheap!), and of course, nice cafés where you can just relax  and drink some Bergerac ( the local wine) or Bordeaux if you’re feeling snobbish! They even have an English bookshop and a grocer’s shop called ‘A taste of Britain’ if you’re feeling nostalgic for home!

As I told you before, we haven’t had much time to ourselves, refurbishing the little cottage we bought a few months ago. We are hoping to turn it into a B&B or gîte as  they call it here. For the time being most of our visitors have been friends and acquaintances, but of course, we are trying to get advertised. Your help in that department would be more than appreciated…if you could spread the word for us in London.

You will come to visit us quite soon, won’t you? I’m sure you will feel like the Lady of the Manor here. John and I often joke that we have become country squires, without the rain and the ghastly foxhunting!

Mark and Sophie are settling in just fine. The French educational system does have its advantages and people learn so quickly at their age! No need for overpriced and incompetent French tutors now, they are really going native. Of course they miss their friends but they are adjusting  to their new life…plus having a swimming pool in the garden helps!

As for me, I don’t miss my job or the london fog. Who wants to be a financial advisor anyway? Not my childood dream… At least now I will be able to concentrate on my painting  and John on his writing. No more stress, pollution, hours of coummuting and liquid lunches with creeps. It really seems like heaven at the moment.

it´s really hot here in July and we have met lots of fun and interesting people. Our neighbours, Debbie and Fred, even threw a party for us yesterday. Of course it was mainly British expats but we’re hoping to make friends with the locals pretty soon.

I’m afraid we both came home a bit tipsy…oops. Anyway, we’ve got to make the most of the Summer. I guess the place will get considerably quieter in the Winter months. John’s moods have improved tremendously since we movved here. Sometimes I wonder if I am married to the same man! He was so tense and stressed over work and all the financial problems that you know only too well. So it seems we have turned over a new leaf…and are looking forward to a bright future. You only live once!

I realise I haven’t asked you too much about yourself but I do think about you a lot. I hope the IVF treatment is going well. We’ll keep our fingers crossed for you. Remember, you are only 35 and have your whole life ahead of you. Always think positive sweetie.image

 

Lots of love and hugs,

 

Tessa.

 

 

 

 

By annagaelle

2 comments on “Dear Isabella

Leave a Reply

